ABOUT ROMANIA

Take a trip to Romania

When in Romania, the natural inclination is to concentrate only on the big sights. But to really experience Romania, you need to spend time to learn its history and discover its secrets. Take my advice: first learn its geography, "feel" the language and take a trip inside people's mind...

Geography

Romania is situated in Southeastern Europe (latitudes 43 37' 07" North and longitudes 20 15' 44" east) extending approximately 480 km North to South and 640 km east to West. Romania is bordered to the North and East by Moldavia and Ukraine, to the Southeast by the Black Sea, to the South by Bulgaria, to the Southwest by Yugoslavia and to the West by Hungary. The country is divided into three geographical areas. Transylvania Moldavia and Tara Romaneasca . Forests cover over a quarter of the country and the fauna is one of the richest in Europe.

Climate

Romania has a temperate-continental climate with moderate features, characteristic for Central Europe. Hot summers. Cold winters.The annual average temperature depends on latitude and ranges from 8 degrees Celsius in the North and 11 degrees Celsius in the South, with temperatures of 2.6 degrees Celsius in the mountains and 11.7 degrees Celsius in the plain.

Relief

Romania's relief is a complex and harmonious unity of a range of mountains, hills and plains, completed by the Danube Delta and the Black Sea Coast.

Language

The official language is Romanian, of Latin origin. Some Hungarian and German are spoken in Transylvania and in the border areas, while mainly English and some French are spoken by those connected with the tourist industry

The local hour

Eastern European Time Zone : GMT+2 hours. When noon in Romania it is 11.00 in Paris and Berlin, 10.00 in London, 05.00 in New York, 19.00 in Sydney and 13.00 in Moscow. Summertime: GMT+3 hours. From the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in
barsana-1434541_1920
bucharest-2519177_1920